Beachsoccer Tournaments

There are many beach soccer tournaments played across the world at both professional and amateur level. Here’s a few of them…

The Beach Soccer World Cup

The FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup is a tournament contested by the national teams of the member associations of FIFA. Founded in 1995, the Competition was originally overseen by the BSWW (Beach Soccer World Wide) and initially named the Beach Soccer World Championship. However due to the rapid expansion in popularity, in 2005 FIFA rebranded and renamed the tournament an official FIFA event

From the 16 Tournaments so far, only 4 countries have won the title – Brazil winning the title a huge 13 times. The other 3 Champions are Portugal (2001) France (2005) Russia (2011)

The European Beach Soccer League

The Mastercard Euro Beach Soccer League is BSWW’s longest-running championship, bringing the top national teams from the entire European continent to compete head to head in a thrilling summer-long league format. Originally started back in 1998 as a single group of teams making the most of the Northern Hemisphere’s summer months, this exciting continental competition has gained such a following that three separate groups have now been formed, with the action spread out over several weeks.

The competition travels from country to country with the league setting up camp for a weekend at a time, attracting large crowds of local spectators and giving each event a unique feel for the television audience.

The top teams in the EBSL include France, Portugal, Italy and Spain. In addition England, Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Belgium and Norway have been represented for several years. In 2004 a number of newcomers entered the competition – The Netherlands, Ukraine, Poland, Turkey, Croatia, Malta, Estonia, Monaco, and Greece.

The European Beach Soccer Cup

The European Beach Soccer Cup is a breathtaking three-day knockout tournament, with the European nations going head to head to be crowned European Beach Soccer Cup Champions. With the sport now attracting countries from every corner of the continent, this event gives a chance for the so-called lesser nations to put one over on their more well-known rivals and progress ever further into the competition.

Pro Beach Soccer Tour

The Pro Beach Soccer Tour is a series of exhibition matches that take place around the world in order to promote the fast-growing phenomenon that is Beach Soccer.

Over recent years, tournaments have been held as far and wide as Poland, Greece, the United Arab Emirates and Thailand.

PBST represents a chance for emerging and existing Beach Soccer nations to pit their own country’s skills against the best in the world, whilst also giving local fans the chance to see some of the best technicians of the sport in action in the flesh.

The Beach Soccer World Championships

Held annually in Brazil, the Championships brings together the top nations in the world for a one-off tournament to celebrate the growth of the sport around the world.

The first Pro Beach Soccer World Championship was held in Rio de Janeiro in 1995, with eight participating teams and Brazil taking the title, the USA ending second and England third. The tournament has continued to be played every year since then, usually in South America during the last week of February/first week of March. Brazil have won 9 of the 10 events, the exception being in 2001 when Portugal were crowned World Champions.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by elogi.